Happy New Year!

Today is New Year’s Eve and it is one of my favorite days of the year. Not necessarily because it is the New Year holiday, but also because of the amazing store sales going on, specialty menus created at my favorite restaurants for this one night, happy atmosphere around me from all the hopeful people who believe the next year will be the best one yet, and the time off work to spend the day doing anything but work. The next day will be filled with people rushing to create their new year resolutions, only to find themselves falling off the dedicated path a couple of weeks into the new year. Personally, I prefer to make a list of resolutions and goals to accomplish every day. I think taking small steps towards achieving a bigger goal gives you a better chance of doing this successfully. It allows you to take it one day at a time, while remaining motivated and focused until the goal is achieved. I am very excited about what the New Year might bring, but I am completely content with just being healthy, happy, and thankful for all that life has brought for my family and I in these past years. I wish all your dreams come true in the New Year and beyond.IMG_3468 IMG_3570

What plans do you have to celebrate this New Year?

Things I am thankful for: New Year’s fireworks, Baker and Spice café, drinking water, sweet potato, and cheesecake.

Advice of the day: Watch Sunsets/Sunrises. Have you ever spent some time just sitting back and watching sunset or sunrise at your favorite place or just a peaceful place? I have seen plenty of sunsets and sunrises in my life, but I never really paid attention until recently. After my evening run I decided to sit back and watch the sunset on Dubai beach since I was there just in time to witness the beautiful sun going down into the sea. The beach was almost empty and very quiet, which gave me all the silence I need to just focus on the beauty of nature around me: the beach, the sand, the water, the setting sun, and the fresh, cool air. It was truly an experience and such a relaxing way to end the day. I highly recommend making it a point to spend one morning or one evening (or both) and just observe these amazing phenomenons that happen every day.

Leave a Reply

