Living in Dubai, UAE

Living in Dubai, UAE is quite an experience. I moved here in April of last year to be with my husband. I have visited Dubai several times prior to moving here and really enjoyed every visit, never wanting to leave. Living here now for several months and seeing all that Dubai has to offer definitely brings things into perspective for me, much more than I could ever get from a simple visit. First of all, I must say that summer time in Dubai is completely brutal (previously I always came in the winter time), and I would not recommend it to anyone. I would, however, recommend traveling as much as possible during the summer season, because not much is happening here and nothing to keep you entertained. My husband and I were fortunate to travel quite a bit last summer; otherwise, I might have melted. Then, the fall/winter came and I am beyond excited to tell you just how cool the air is and how cold the evenings are, especially in the desert. I never thought I would be so excited to wear a hoodie or a jacket! And this is when the fun starts in Dubai. Tourists pour in, restaurants set up outside seating, concerts and variety of shows are on regular basis, and morning runs on the beach are now religious to me. This is the time to explore new local eats and enjoy every moment outside, wearing layers, feeling the cold breeze, and enjoying the soft sunshine. Being here in the wintertime makes waiting through the summer time worthwhile. I think I can actually make it through the next summer after soaking in the winter days. And the food here…well you just have to come and try it. Any cuisine you can think of is represented here in one way or another. If you want a local experience, you can go to the beach and eat freshly caught fish and shrimps or get a shawarma sandwich from a neighborhood cafeteria. If you prefer a more luxurious experience, then Dubai has hundreds of amazing places to dine and experience the luxury that surrounds this growing city. As for activities, this is also a huge attraction here in Dubai. You can go skydiving and do any kind of watersport, or go ride a camel in a desert safari and that same evening ski at the indoor ski resort, or see a fashion show and experience some of the best shopping in the area. The choice is yours but there are definitely plenty of choices to choose from. I recommend visiting Dubai between November-March and I promise you it will be one of the best experiences of your life.

IMG_2210 IMG_2328 IMG_2612 IMG_2920

Things I am thankful for: access to Internet, homemade food, coffee, fruit smoothies, and comfortable flights.

Advice of the Day: Take time to pamper yourself. Pampering yourself can come in different forms: you can get a massage or a facial, get a fresh haircut, buy some new clothes, treat yourself to a nice lunch or dinner, or do any of these at home (depending on your finances). Doing a facial at home or simply taking a bath is also a great way to treat yourself. Do whatever works best for you. Just take time to love yourself and take care of your body in whatever way works best for you.

Leave a Reply

