Self Reflection

On April 14, 2014 I married my best friend and moved to Dubai with him to start our new life together. Moving to Dubai in the beginning of the summer was a challenge for me and I literally thought I was going to melt at one point. However, I made it through! I quit my job in the US in April and have not worked since then (although I recently got back into job searching). I was fortunate enough to be able to take about 8 months off from work to just live life, be a wife, enjoy my new country and home, travel, and overall take care of myself in every way possible. This time off was the best thing that I could have ever asked for. I am thankful for my husband for providing for us while I took this time to reflect on my life and find what it is that I want to do, what my passions are, and overall what kind of life I want for myself. Mind you, coming from the US, where we are all encouraged to do tons of things at the same time, it was actually a challenge for me to not work. Since I was 15 years old I was always studying or working or interning or volunteering or all at the same time. This was the first time in my life when I literally had nothing to do and had all the free time in the world. At first I spent a lot of time organizing our home in Dubai, getting acquainted with the new city, spending time with my in-laws (who are the best group of people that a girl can ask for), and similar things. Eventually all these things settled down (except I still spend time with my in laws on regular basis) and that is when I really had the chance to reflect on my life and spend time on myself. I woke up (and still do) at 630 or 7 every morning, make breakfast for my husband, and wish him a great day at work. After he leaves for work, my work on myself begins. I start my day by going to the beach and meditating, thanking God for all that we have, setting goals for myself, evaluating my life, dreaming, and just letting my mind breathe. After meditation, I typically spend some time at the gym because physical activity is of one of the best things you can do for a healthy mind and body. It releases anxiety and any stress, gets you in shape, keeps you active, and energizes you for the rest of the day. I also spend a lot of time just reading lots of books on various topics, writing a journal, writing this blog, and feeding my mind positive and useful information. All of these things lead me to discover myself, to love and respect myself more and more, to take care of myself in every way possible and much more. By spending this time on myself, I am able to give much more back to others as well. I think it is essential for one to love and respect him or her self before they can even begin to share love with others. I think by taking this time to know me (more than before) allows me to give more love and affection to my family and friends. I fall in love with my husband more and more each day, partly because of who he is and how he is towards me, but also because of how I am and my love for myself. I can radiate peace from within me to our marriage and to him. It is amazing how happy and peaceful you become once you are happy and peaceful with yourself. Once you are happy with yourself, then everything around you makes you happy and you make other people happy too. It is almost automatic and something that just comes out of you. It is completely true that we are what we think, and our thoughts essentially turn into our reality. The more positive you are, the more positive your life will be. Dreaming is part of planning, so dream big. But, also don’t forget to make a plan for those dreams, a plan of action that will lead you to accomplish your goals. I hope that you too will be able to have a chance to take some time off work/study to just enjoy life and appreciate every waking moment as I have learned to appreciate it. I can truly say this is the most positive I have ever been in my life and all it took me was finding out what is inside of me and learning to control my thoughts. I can only hope to be able to practice this kind of lifestyle for as long as I live because this is what life is about: living, loving yourself, doing what makes you happy, loving others, giving back to others, and sharing positivity with the world.

Advice of the Day: Reflect on Your Life. Spend some time alone, in your quiet place, and just think about where you are in life. Are you where you want to be? Are you with whom you want to be? Think about where you are personally and professionally? Are you happy in your current situation? If not, then it is time for change. Time to take the first step towards the person that you are meant to become. Is there something that you want to do but afraid to? Take charge of your life and don’t let fear get in the way. Failure is necessary for success. We all make mistakes, and the more mistakes we make, the more successful we become (as long as we learn from our mistakes). Life is too short to let each day go by in a life that is ordinary and without any direction. Find your passion, follow your heart, and live an extraordinary life that you deserve!

Leave a Reply

