Life is not a competition

I recently read an article about how it is never too late to start a new beginning, it covers some excellent points.I highly recommend for you to read this article. You can read the full article here: http://digitalsynopsis.com/inspiration/never-too-late-start-venture/

We all have this thing what I call a “life schedule,” it is a schedule that you set for your life to accomplish certain things. You want to finish your education by the age of 25 or before, you want to get married and start a family by the age of 30, and you want to be an executive at your company by the age of 35 or 40, or whatever schedules you create for yourself. The point is we all have an idea in our minds to what our life should be like at certain age of our existence. This was true for me as well. I had this idea that I needed to get things done by a certain age, as if that defines success somehow. I thought the earlier you accomplish something the better off you are. I can now tell you I was so wrong. Now, I am more about living in the moment, enjoying life and what I have today, but it doesn’t mean I don’t make plans for the future. I do make plans, all the time, and I dream, I dream without a limit! But, what I don’t do is I don’t create a life schedule for myself anymore. I just do my best each day and do something to improve my life in some way every day, which will inevitably lead me to a more fulfilled life. I also work on my relationships with my friends and family and do my best to give quality time to each person in my life. This is what matters in life to me. A career can always have space in my life but it is not a huge part of my life at this moment in time. I am sure that I still have time to do whatever it is I want to do, but first I have to take care of myself and my body and mind. To be honest, I realized that many things I have done in the past have nothing to do with what I really enjoy doing. I learned a lot, yes, but at the same time, I devoted time to things I didn’t enjoy and gave attention to people who didn’t deserve it. All of this was due to the fact that I didn’t know myself as I do now.

The key is not to get stuck on this notion that you must accomplish A, B, and C by a certain age. Most of us need time to really understand what it is that we love to do and what our true aspirations are in this life. That is why it is so important to spend some time alone and to always be honest with yourself about your goals, your abilities, motivations, and ways of life. The more you understand yourself and your dreams, the better chances you have at making those dreams come true. The age is not important in this case. Life is not a competition, so there is no need to race towards the end and never compare your life to someone else’s, it is simply a waste of time. You have your own journey and your own time to reach your dreams and aspirations. There is nothing wrong with changing careers at any point in your life. Find what truly inspires you. Life is too short to waste on a career that drains you daily and has you coming home exhausted and unhappy. When you love what you do you are never tired! Take a look at your life and if there is something that needs changing, then start one step at a time, start today.

Leave a Reply

