Yoga for Weight Loss?

As I continue to practice yoga at least 3 times a week, I am noticing some amazing changes. I started eating less and I am able to control my appetite and my cravings. I believe this is from yoga because once I stopped yoga for about  a week when my friend was visiting me and I noticed my appetite and cravings coming back. When I do weekly yoga, I am more conscious about the foods that I eat and I am able to control my portions better. Please note, I did not add any other exercise or diet into my routine, I simply was just doing yoga and cardio as I always do (I do a minimum of 40 minutes of cardio 6 days a week). I really do believe this positive change is from yoga and it makes sense, because in yoga you are more connected to your mind and body and by controlling your breathing you reduce stress and anxiety (2 common factors that lead to over eating and cravings). I have tried several diets and exercise routines in the past (from high intensity trainings to running to body pump and many more) but it all usually ends in me craving more food (because I am burning more calories) and not necessarily losing weight. I am the kind of person who can have an amazing workout and burn close to 800 calories per workout but then the hunger sets in and my body just craves food, which is hard for me to control.  However, with yoga and cardio alone I found a nice balance of exactly what my body needs. I see changes and I am not spending hours at the gym or denying myself food. Of course, everyone is different, but this is just what works for me so I wanted to share this with you.

What works for you?

Leave a Reply

